Seresto Flea/Tick Collar- Product Review

When I went to BarkWorld in Sept 2012, I was chosen to be on a Bayer test panel for a flea collar called Seresto. At first, I thought “hey I don’t have fleas”! But there is a reason for this. I use Advantix to prevent them. The only thing I don’t like about using Advantix is that when I get my monthly treatment, I am not allowed on the couch until my fur dries. The microfiber couch will suck the flea treatment right off my fur and it leaves a greasy feeling spot. My first question on this collar was “can I get on the couch right away?” They said “Yes” that was music to my ears! 

I am a one collar girl so I didn’t know how this flea collar would feel considering most flea collars are stiff. Ma put the collar on me and I didn’t mind having the second collar. It is lightweight yet durable and it came with 3 reflective clips that give it the bling look. Now are you ready for the BIG news? This collar not only REPELS and KILLS fleas, ticks and lice but it does it for up to 8 MONTHS! Yes,up to 8 MONTHS! It’s also Waterproof so you don’t have to remove it when you get baths or go swimming. Its odorless, non greasy and can be used on puppies as young as 7 weeks and kittens as young as 10 weeks. 
This collar has been used in the UK for 1 yrs and has been deemed safe and effective but it was released in the US in Feb. 2013. If you register with Petparents you can save $20.00 off the collar. The collar retails for around $70 but when you add up how much you are spending for your current flea/tick treatment you will see the savings. If I were to use Frontline Plus and bought it at Walmart at $42 for a 3 pk that would be over $100 for a 8 mth coverage and we have to remember to get my monthly treatment. With the collar you put it on and forget about it for 8 mths. 

The reflective tags makes it easy to see me at night. I am invisible to fleas and ticks. 

I feel stylish in my collar and I know I am protective from bugs that can spread disease
The reflective tags makes it look like I am wearing jewelry. Yet I don’t look like I am wearing a flea collar. 
The collar comes in small/medium and large for dogs and a one size fits all cats.The cats collar has a quick release just like other kitty collars for their safety. 
You can watch videos here 
The two main ingredients are midacloprid has been used in products recommended by veterinarians for years to control flea infestations. Flumethrin works to repel and kill ticks. Already used in Europe, this effective active ingredient now comes to the US.
Flumethrin works together with imidacloprid to provide dual action against fleas and ticks. No other treatment has this combination of ingredients 
I have been using this collar for a month and a half and I am proud to say I haven’t had a flea or a tick bother me. You can purchase a Seresto collar at your veterinarian, 1-800 pet meds, Petco, and many other places. 
If you would like more information you can read it here  SERESTO
Will I buy another collar when the effectiveness of this one runs out? CERTAINLY! 

Disclaimer: I was given this Seresto Collar as a demo from the Bayer Company and I am expressing my own opinion on the product. Some information came from the Seresto website. 

7 Comments

  1. I'm not a fan of flea collars but this looks pretty interesting as it's made by Bayer with some of the same ingredients as other topical flea products. I was always told that flea collars only protect a few inches above and below the collar. I'd love to try one of these things some time though!

  2. We have never been a fan of them either. We thought the same as you did but during the meeting about the collar we seen how it worked. With a flea treatment, you apply it between the shoulder blades and it delivers the ingredients throughout the body. This collar is designed to do the same thing. It releases a continual small amount of the active ingredients so the medicine doesn't over load the system at one time like topical products. One thing I have noticed about the collar is it doesn't leave my fur with a dingy spot like the topical treatment does. Having a white coat it's noticeable that between my shoulders has a less white area but with this collar my neck is as white as the rest of me. I believe this collar is my new flea/tick preventer!

  3. Carma, Gizmo and I were at the luncheon where Bayer introduced the Seresto at Global Pet Expo and received one to test out. Since Florida is the flea & tick capital of the universe we're eager to see how well it does

  4. Let me know how these things work, if you would, please. In New England, it's Lyme disease country and I am an absolute fanatic about not having ticks on Lou, or, worse, in the house. A collar that is effective & stays on Lou for 8 mos out of the year would work out great for us!

  5. I hope you get the results I am getting. I don't mind wearing the collar and I don't have any fleas or ticks. Can't wait to read your review!

  6. I like this collar. Me and my brother (Scooby Doo) wrestle around and play all day and not once has this collar came off. It is designed to stay on. I bet this would be a great collar to protect from ticks. I will blog more about it in a couple months when the fleas are the worse here.

  7. What about children. My kids are all over my dog. Is it safe for them to be around the collar?

Leave a Reply

